Caramel Apple Blondies

7 Oct

Caramel Apple Blondies

Today is officially the first day it feels like fall here in Houston! Sean and I started off our day at the Pumpkin Patch with my brother’s family. I’m excited to post pictures soon.

Somehow I let the month of September slip by! These last few weeks have been busy with school getting back into full swing, and I decided to take an online class this semester about web design. I’m really excited to apply what I’m learning to customize my blog.

When I think of autumn, apples come to mind, and what goes great with apples, caramel of course! The latest Martha Stewart had an Apple Brownie recipe and Jenna over at Eat, Live, Run, recently posted a Chewy Caramel Apple Cookie recipe. I couldn’t decide which one to make the other day, so I came up with these.

Caramel Apple Blondies

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter (melted and cooled)
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
2 cups flour (I used 1 cup all purpose and 1 cup whole wheat)
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 apples shredded or finely minced ( I used Granny Smith)
1 cup caramel bits

Recipe

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease a 9×13 pan.

In a large bowl cream together melted butter and brown sugar. Add eggs one at a time making sure the first one is fully incorporated before adding the next. Mix in the vanilla and apple sauce.

In a separate bowl combine the flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking powder, salt, and baking soda. Mix into the wet mixture on low until just combined.

Stir in the apples and the caramels by hand. Pour into your prepared pan and bake for 30-35 minutes.

They are deliciously gooey when eaten warm. Enjoy!

These are the caramel bits I used.

One Response to “Caramel Apple Blondies”

  1. Mom October 7, 2012 at 6:58 PM #

    And they were so good!

Leave a Comment