Recipe of the Week: One Pot Chicken and Dumplings

22 Jan

There’s something about soft, fluffy, doughy bread that I find irresistible. Dumplings are all of these to me and I have always been drawn to them. One of my first encounters with dumplings was at my best friend/next door neighbors house. Her grandmother was visiting and made Polish potato dumplings for dinner and I was hooked. I remember wondering why no one had ever given me dumplings before.

I like this recipe because the dumplings are soft and doughy without being too dense and chewy. I also like putting lots of vegetables with the chicken to deepen the flavors of the sauce. We really enjoyed this dinner and I hope you do too!

One Pot Chicken and Dumplings

Serves 4

The Chicken Stew

3 tablespoons butter
1 onion – chopped
1 leek – white and light green parts sliced thin
3 to 4 – carrots sliced
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup flour
1 1/2 cups chicken stock
1 lb boneless-skinless chicken thighs
1 bay leaf
1/4 cup whole milk
1 cup frozen peas

The Dumplings

1 cup flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons whole milk
1 tablespoon melted butter

Melt the 3 tablespoons of butter in a large dutch oven over medium high heat. Add onion, leek, carrots, thyme, and salt to the pot and cover for five minutes, stirring occasionally.

When the vegetables have begun to soften stir in the flour, then the stock, milk and bay leaf. Bring to a simmer and add the chicken. Cover and let cook for 20 minutes. Then take out the chicken thighs one at a time and shredded them with two forks and place back in the pot. Add salt and pepper to taste at this point. Add the peas and bring to a simmer.

As you wait for the sauce to simmer make the dumpling dough by combining all of the dumpling ingredients in a bowl, don’t make it before hand. Add the dumpling batter in tablespoon drops all over the top of the chicken and cover.

Cook for about 15 more minutes until the dumplings are done, they will have doubled in size and become firm. Stir everything together, let cool a bit and enjoy!

One Response to “Recipe of the Week: One Pot Chicken and Dumplings”

  1. Sallie Harper January 25, 2012 at 10:27 PM #

    This was really good. I really liked it a lot.

Leave a Comment