Advent is Here!

27 Nov

I hope everyone is having a great first Sunday of Advent. Scott Erickson is the artist in residence at Ecclesia, and a few weeks ago he gave the congregation an Advent art assignment. I was excited to have an art assignment of my own, as I am usually the one doing the assigning. The church had pre-cut MDF squares, about 20 x 20 in, to make their own piece of art if they wanted to participate. This is what I came up with.

I started out by gluing torn paper to my board.

Sean then helped me select some Scripture that I wrote on pieces of paper.

I added a wash of color with acrylic paint.

And then drew in details with oil pastels. It was a fun and meaningful assignment. Pardon the cell phone picture quality.

One Response to “Advent is Here!”

  1. asharperfocus November 27, 2011 at 4:21 PM #

    I realize the painting in this photo looks much brighter than in life, oh well.

Leave a Comment