Back to School

17 Sep

School is back in full swing. Our start time changed this year to 7:30, from 8:15, so that has taken some getting used to. A positive is that I sit in less traffic. Our schedule is also a little different this year from last. I see my kids about every three days now, instead of every five. This also means that my classes are quite a bit larger, ranging from 35 to 41 a class. Yesterday I tried to have a group of 39 kindergartners do a follow me drawing activity, which was an interesting experience to say the least. Along with larger class sizes and seeing my kids more often I also have a much smaller budget, a third of what I had my first year teaching art. I’m a bit worried about seeing more kids more often, but having way less money to buy supplies is going to play out. However, I met many awesome parents this week at open house that volunteered to donate supplies to our classroom, of which I am very appreciative. I also have a very supportive team and administration that help me out whenever they can, so despite all of the changes I really do think it will be a good year.

3 Responses to “Back to School”

  1. Katie September 17, 2011 at 7:05 PM #

    You are so WONDERFUL at what you do and I know you will give those kids ALL you’ve got!!! You are an incredible teacher!!! I love you and miss you!!! 🙂

  2. Aunt Jan September 19, 2011 at 2:47 PM #

    That starting 45 mins. earlier would be hard for me, not a morning person. But then you knew that. Sorry for the budget cuts, but at least they are still having art. Like Katie said, you will do great. Love.

  3. asharperfocus September 23, 2011 at 4:29 PM #

    Thanks Katie and Aunt Jan. I miss you both!

Leave a Comment

