Deep Sea Fishing and the USS Alabama

13 Aug

During our Gulf Shores trip this summer we got to go deep sea fishing again. Two years ago we went on a four hour trip and caught mostly mackerel. This summer we splurged on the six hour trip in hopes we would catch some snapper, and snapper we caught! My dad, cousins Mo and Drew, and I are the ones that went out and we ended up with about 20 lbs of cleaned fish to take home with us.

We caught Red Snapper and smaller Mango Snapper mostly and I also caught a trigger fish. At one point I also caught a snapper that got caught by a shark. Unfortunately the shark won and I ended up with just the head of the snapper on my line. Bummer.

My dad, Sean and I also spent a day at the USS Alabama. I had never been to a battleship of any kind before and I was surprised by how awesome it was. The Alabama is full of period artifacts, so when you walk through it you get an idea of what it really looked like with it was in use during the 1940’s.

Dad and Sean engaging the enemy?

Inside the biggest canons.

The main galley on the ship.

The butcher’s area.

Need a hair cut or to radio someone?

I loved all of the switches, gears and dials on the ship. I wish I knew what they did.

We definitely had a good time. If you’re ever in Mobile, stop by the USS Alabama for an interesting step back in history.

4 Responses to “Deep Sea Fishing and the USS Alabama”

  1. Seanpatrick August 13, 2011 at 2:55 PM #

    hey … i’m still stuck in the brig. come get me out! good thing i get wi-fi in here …

  2. Aunt Jan August 13, 2011 at 5:19 PM #

    Oops, Sean, they knew they forgot something, LOL.. Great fishing too. I remember going to see the Alabama with Keith, and I think once with Daddy. You know that he built control panels for the battleships during the war. Aunt Jan

  3. Aunt Jan August 13, 2011 at 5:21 PM #

    Did you go on the sub, talk about close quarters. You can’t much closer than that.

  4. Robin Royal September 18, 2011 at 2:31 PM #

    I talked about this (and showed some online pics) last year with the 4th graders for our World Tour Day. I bet they (currently 5th graders) would love to see these pics from someone who was there !

Leave a Comment

