Summer so far…

23 Jul

It’s been a busy summer so far and it doesn’t look like it’s going to slow down too much, but that’s okay with me.

The Wednesday after school was out I had sinus surgery that put me out of commission for about two weeks. I had my tonsils removed, my deviated septum straightened and my turbinates trimmed. Not really my idea of fun, but I can tell a big difference in the way I breath. This might be TMI, but I could barely get air through the left side of my nose before, and now it’s very clear.

Towards the end of June my family had our annual pilgrimage to Gulf Shores, Alabama. Sean and I spent a little over a week there and had a great time. The beach was lovely and it was great to see so much of my extended family. I am currently working on the pictures from this trip. They should start to show up here soon.

The day after I got back from Alabama I flew out to West Palm Beach with seven other teachers from my school for a 10 day teaching workshop. The trip to Florida was busy and a lot of fun. I’m excited to implement the new PEAK strategies that I learned in my classroom this year. We also had one day off were four of us went to Universal for Saturday night and most of Sunday. I got to go the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, which totally made my day.

The town of Hogsmead.

Owls!

It’s been very hot here in Texas this July, which is pretty common, but it’s taken a toll on my garden. I still have my peppers, eggplants and beans growing stong, and my okra is loving the heat. For the other plants that are sputtering out I’m slowing removing them to get ready for some fall planting when the weather starts to cool a bit. Here are some photos of the garden earlier in June.

Some eggplants.

Honey bees in the zucchini flower.

I love this little tree frog hanging out on my pole beans.

3 Responses to “Summer so far…”

  1. Mom July 23, 2011 at 8:13 PM #

    Awesome photos!!! Love the one on the beach and the frog. I can’t wait to see more photos from the beach.

  2. Aunt Jan July 23, 2011 at 9:16 PM #

    As usual great pics, but I’m with your Mom, my fav is the little frog on the green bean. I noticed the few days we have a lot of baby toads in our yard. I’m not sure why, maybe because we have finally been getting some rain. They are kind of cute then they are so small. Aunt Jan

  3. Paulina July 23, 2011 at 10:40 PM #

    I also love the frog picture! 🙂

Leave a Comment

