Garden Update

17 Apr

We have most of our spring and summer garden up and growing for the year. We’ve expanded with three more raised beds. They are smaller than the main ones we built last year though. We’ve been eating broccoli, and the peas are coming in as you read this, which I’m very excited about. Our peas are bunching together a bit though. I don’t think I spaced the twine close enough together for them to grow as vertically as I had hoped. I’ll know next year.

We planted our bush and pole beans from seed and they seem to be doing well. These are also new this year so I’m learning as I go.

A few weekends ago we bought and planted seedlings of tomatoes, peppers, eggplants, cucumbers, zucchini, and squash. They are all in the ground and are doing well, except for one of my poor little squashes is a little yellow. I might try to fertilize it to see if that’s the problem.

Hopefully we’ll have some tomatoes soon.

Here’s the garden in panorama of sorts.

We also have carrots and radishes growing in pots on the back porch. I’ll have to take some pictures of those as they get bigger. The last thing on my list to plant in the garden is okra. Hopefully in my next update they will be up and growing as well.

Leave a Comment

