Austin Part #2

6 Apr

Two weekends ago we were in Austin for my nephew Ian’s Christening. We drove in on Saturday and met up with my dear friend Allie for a late lunch at Blue Dahlia Cafe on the east side of town.

Allie had the chicken salad sandwich with dried cranberries.

I had the Brie sandwich with apricot preserves and walnuts and Sean had a hearty tomato gazpacho.

We all ended up sharing our sandwiches and everything I tried was very good and fresh. I would definitely go back. After checking into our hotel and driving around Austin for a while we headed back downtown to South Congress. I was wanting some Mac’n’Cheese and I knew the restaurant Snack Bar had some from when I had visited this past summer. Below you can see our lovely dinner. Sean had pork belly sliders and a blue cheese salad, and I had Mac’n’Cheese and a double dip hummus with veggies.

Sean’s sliders had a great flavor and the mac didn’t disappoint. We ended up staying there for a while. It was a beautiful night to people watch.

Do you remember the picture of this wall from my summer visit? Well, Snack Bar is just across the street and had this message on their marquee in response.

I was having fun taking night photos on our way back to the car.

When we finally left downtown we were in the mood for some dessert, so I started looking for places on my trusty phone. I really don’t know what I would do without it now, we’ve become so attached. I ended up finding this great gelato place that was on our way back to the hotel. Teo Gelato and Cafe had delicious gelato that was authentically made. I’m excited to take my dad there next time we are in Austin together. We often crave good gelato, but flying to Italy seems a little expensive.

The next day was Ian’s Christening. It was a beautiful service and a lot of Paulina’s family was able to be there. Ian looked so handsome in his christening gown.

I was really glad Sean and I were able to be there.

5 Responses to “Austin Part #2”

  1. easylifestyles April 6, 2011 at 9:16 PM #

    Another great post. Thanks for sharing this. Spending time traveling with my family is something that truly makes me happy in life. I enjoy reading your blog very much.

    Check out these Vacation and Travel Tips

  2. Aunt Jan April 6, 2011 at 10:04 PM #

    The pic from the christening, is that the same minister that married Andrew and Paulina? If it is that is so neat, to have him marry them and then christen both boys too. Love

    • Andrew April 7, 2011 at 5:12 AM #

      Yes it is. He also performed the wedding for Paulina brother last month and will perform the wedding for Paulina’s sister end of this month. He’s seeing a lot of us this spring.

      • Aunt Jan April 7, 2011 at 2:39 PM #

        That is great , thank you for answering…since I’m just a nosy parker…LOL

  3. asharperfocus April 7, 2011 at 5:05 PM #

    Aunt Jan I love your comments! It’s nice to see interest in what I’m writing. Love you!

Leave a Comment

