Austin Visit Part #1

31 Mar

Two weekends ago Sean and I went to Austin for Paulina’s brother’s wedding. We got to have dinner with Allie on Friday night when we got in and then spent most of Saturday exploring the city before the wedding. Saturday started off with some coffee for Sean and a Chai latte for me from Houndstooth Coffee.

Sean and I really like this shop. They offer great coffee from some of Sean’s favorite roasters and they are very friendly. We then headed down to South Congress to look around a bit. That weekend was the beginning of SXSW so we were expecting for things to be crowded but the crowds didn’t show up until later in the afternoon.

Later on we met up with my parents and picked up some lunch from the Wurst Tex food cart.

I was feeling traditional and choose the Franklin.

Sean was feeling a little more exotic and choose the Buckwurst.

They were very good, and I really liked the buns they used. It was a beautiful day, although the wind made it a little tricky to eat and not loose your napkins and paper plates.

I think because of SXSW a lot of people were walking around taking photographs and film. I saw many cameras that weekend that I might have drooled over a bit.

One day I’ll actually get a cupcake from Hey Cupcake.

I actually remembered to take a picture inside of Big Top Candy Shop this time, but it was much more crowded than it had been last time so we didn’t really spend to much time there.

We also stopped by Hill Country Weavers with Mom to scope out the Austin knitting scene. I liked how they had their cotton yarn arranged by color.

Jennifer and Andrew’s wedding was beautiful. It was at the same church as Andrew and Paulina’s wedding, Gethsemane Lutheran. It has beautiful stain-glass windows that give the whole sanctuary a beautiful light. Corwin was the ring-bearer!

The reception was at the Barr Mansion. I’m such a sucker for awesome old houses so my draw dropped a little when we drove up. Pretty much the entire house was open for the guest to look at which was a lot of fun. The rest of the reception was also very nice and I even got to dance a little.

Unfortunately, I had only brought my phone with me to the wedding, so I didn’t have my better camera to take more photos.

Well that’s all for now from Austin. I went back this past weekend though, so I’ll have more on Austin soon. Don’t fret!

3 Responses to “Austin Visit Part #1”

  1. Aunt Jan March 31, 2011 at 2:34 AM #

    Great pics as usual, loved the yarn ones. Love.

  2. Rachael April 1, 2011 at 4:42 AM #

    I really like your new blog layout and your photos are beautiful as usual. Love seeing what you guys are up to.

    • asharperfocus April 1, 2011 at 9:29 PM #

      Thanks Rachael! I just changed the layout yesterday, I was getting tired of the old one. I love seeing Esther grow up on your blog too. I hope all of your visas come in soon. If your ever in Houston give me a call! We miss you guys.

Leave a Comment