I Heart Breakfast Tacos

6 Feb

For years now I’ve been eating pre-made breakfast tacos from the refrigerator section of the grocery store. I love them because their fast, yummy and I’m not starving by lunch time. For a while though I haven’t really liked their ingredient list. There are a lot of preservatives and other things I can’t pronounce. So today I tried to replicate them, and I’m so glad I did because they are delicious!

This recipe makes 16. I froze most of mine so I can just defrost one at a time in the morning.

Ingredients:
1/4 Bell Pepper diced small
1/4 Onion diced small
1/2 Baking Potato peeled and diced small
Olive Oil
1/2 lb Good quality pork breakfast sausage, as natural as possible if you can find it
8 to 10 Eggs, depending on your preferred meat to egg ratio
3/4 Cup Shredded Cheddar Cheese
16 Flour Tortillas

Heat a little olive oil in a large skillet until glistening, add pepper, onions and potatoes. If the vegetables start to stick add a little splash of water. When the vegetables are soft and there is no liquid left in the pan add the pork mixture and cook until meat is brown throughout.

Whisk together the eggs and add to the mixture, stirring often. When the eggs are almost cooked sprinkle over the cheese and fold in. When every thing is cooked turn off the heat and spoon mixture into tortillas.

Lay out on a baking sheet, cover and then freeze. When frozen the tacos can be transfered into a different container that seals well and should last about a month.

I am very lucky and my grocery store has a very good selection of organic products and they make their own tortillas in house, so now I know what everything is in my breakfast tacos, and they taste delicious too!

One Response to “I Heart Breakfast Tacos”

  1. Aunt Jan February 6, 2011 at 9:01 PM #

    Way to go, I know what you mean about the ingredients that you can’t pronounce. They are scary. That was a great idea. Aunt Jan

Leave a Comment

