Pasta Yum!

23 Aug

Tonight I made one of my favorite pasta dishes inspired by my friend Kate Boswell. Not only is it delicious, but it’s also supper easy. I cook 1lb of italian sausage in a dutch oven while I start some water boiling for half a pound of pasta. I prefer HEB’s mild italian sausage, but it’s really up to your taste and if you have an HEB around. When the sausage is pretty much cooked and I have drained the fat, I add in two small zucchinis sliced, a hearty handful of chopped sun-dried tomatoes and about a half cup of a light white wine. I let all of that simmer together for at least ten minutes with the lid on, or until the zucchini is cooked to your liking. Hopefully the pasta is done by now. Save about half a cup of the pasta water and add it to the sausage mixture along with the drained pasta. Now off the heat I add in a small package of Chive goat’s cheese and a tablespoon or two of chopped fresh basil and stir until the cheese has melted through the pasta. Voila, a delicious dinner! One of the things I love about this dinner is that it can easily change for what veggies you like or you can find in season. I also like to add mushrooms sometimes.

Tomorrow is my first day back at school with the kids. I have a little bit of the first day jitters. Hopefully everything will go smoothly.

5 Responses to “Pasta Yum!”

  1. Kate August 23, 2010 at 1:40 AM #

    We are food twins!!! I just got the ingredients to make this because I was thinking about how fun it was when we made it last summer. I need to come visit soon! I miss you guys!

    • asharperfocus August 23, 2010 at 3:31 AM #

      Please visit soon, we miss you too!! Sean and I will frequently read or see something and think of you. Hopefully we’ll be able to visit Dallas sometime soon as well. Hugs!

  2. Mom August 23, 2010 at 1:42 AM #

    Definitely yum!

  3. Aunt Jan August 23, 2010 at 3:24 PM #

    That looks so good, and easy too. Good luck on your first day back, you will do great. Love

  4. Rachael August 23, 2010 at 11:15 PM #

    Good luck tomorrow, I will be thinking about you!

Leave a Comment

