Austin, Allie and Squishy

13 Aug

Two weeks ago I went to Austin for a day to visit Allie. I also got to meet Squishy, or Squish, Allie’s new dog. She’s had her for a couple months now, but I hadn’t met her yet. She’s a sweet puppy for sure. While in Austin Allie and I went to S. Congress and did some browsing at some pretty cool stores and ate yummy food. Unfortunately I didn’t take as many pictures as I wish I had, but I plan on going back soon, and hopefully with Sean, so I’ll know to take more pictures. Here are some of the highlights.

We went to Snack Bar for lunch. They have lovely small portions, so Allie and I got some bruchetta, salmon meatballs and Mac’n’cheese and then shared everything. It was delicious and very fresh.

I just thought this was a sweet sentiment scrolled on the side of Jo’s Hot Coffee Good Food. We ended up eating breakfast there the next morning and I had a peach and blueberry muffin that was almost like eating cobbler. Yum.

It was quite a hot afternoon, so we decided to walk through the courtyard of the Hotel San Jose for some shade along the way.

We found a fountain with goldfish in it while we where there.

An animal rescue group had also set up in a parking lot with dogs up for adoption. I hope this little guy found a home. He was just too cute.

I think my favorite store Allie and I went to was Uncommon Objects. It might be the ultimate antique store. Everything is organized, some times by color, which makes me very happy for some reason. There is also a wide range of objects that all seem to be in pretty good condition. We could definitely go again and again and find something new each time.
Down the street we also went to the Big Top Candy Shop. I forgot to take pictures this time. They had almost every type of candy you could imagine in a store with a steam punk, carnival feel. I bought some delicious chocolate truffles and a strip of chocolate covered bacon, which was kind of weird, but good.

Later that afternoon Allie, Megan and I search out Caffe Medici to buy some coffee for Sean.

Megan got a cafe freddo and Allie and I got iced coffees.

I had a wonderful time in Austin and am looking forward to going back. I want to document more of Austin mobile food carts. They have so many and they all cater to a special niche food. I wonder if there’s a mac’n’cheese truck…

3 Responses to “Austin, Allie and Squishy”

  1. Aunt Jan August 14, 2010 at 3:59 AM #

    Loved the pic of the courtyard, liked to way the trees were. Where is a pic of Allie’s new dog?

  2. allie August 14, 2010 at 5:13 PM #

    ❤ x a million!

    You didn't take any pics of Squishums!? SHAME!

  3. asharperfocus August 14, 2010 at 8:42 PM #

    I know! I think it’s because she was licking me or jumping on me when I was with her.

Leave a Comment

