Adventures in Cooking

12 Aug

Since the end of last summer Sean and I have been planning and cooking dinner most nights for my family. I liked to cook before, but now I find myself searching out recipes and eagerly anticipating the next America’s Test Kitchen to appear at Barnes and Noble. I’ve been taking pictures of some of my bigger feats over the year but had never gotten around to posting them, so lets recap a bit.

After seeing Julie and Julia I decided to try my hand at Coq Au Vin. (With mashed potatoes)

Sean and I also made Paella, which was the first time I had ever cooked with squid.

Here’s braised Lamb Shank. I have had this at many restaurants and it’s one of my favorites, so I decided to try it and it came out great.

I need to do these Pear Glazed Pork-chops with Gorgonzola again some time. They were yummy.

Most of these recipes were done on weekends when I had lots of time, but I love to cook Asian inspired food during the week because it’s flavorful and fast. Here is Beef Broccoli and Pad Thai.

Sean and I have also gotten in the habit of making our own pizzas. This one’s my mom’s favorite: Alfredo sauce, spinach, italian sausage and provolone cheese. It’s really gooey.

My favorite has pesto (made from the garden basil), fresh and sun-dried tomatoes, crumbles of goats cheese and mozerella. I love the tanginess of the goat cheese.

Doing this post has made me hungry, so I think I’ll go get a snack. Hopefully I will be more prompt posting what’s happening in the kitchen so I can give more detail about the recipes and the food. Bon Appetit!

4 Responses to “Adventures in Cooking”

  1. Aunt Jan August 12, 2010 at 6:19 PM #

    Well I haven’t had lunch yet, and now I am starved. Everyone of these looks so delicious. Good job both of you. Are you still getting anything from the garden?? I wish we lived a lot closer. Love, Aunt Jan

  2. asharperfocus August 13, 2010 at 9:19 PM #

    It’s been brutally hot the last two weeks here so the garden has taken a hit and I’ve been bad about giving it the care it needs. I think I’m going to take out the plants that aren’t producing or look sickly and think about planting some things for the fall, when it gets a little cooler.

  3. Lauren August 14, 2010 at 2:18 AM #

    OMG. I want to eat at your house. That last pizza looks perfect! Love. I am on a pizza craze right now. So, are you wrapping a cookie sheet with parchment paper to cook those?

    • asharperfocus August 14, 2010 at 2:30 AM #

      I have been putting them on parchment. I was having problems with them sticking to the cookie sheets and this seems to help and the bottom is still crispy. And come on over. If you tell me what you like, I’ll try my best to make it!

Leave a Comment

