Gulf Shores Trip!

10 Aug

Per annual tradition, my family went to Gulf Shores Alabama for 4th of July. Unfortunately, because of summer school Sean didn’t get to go this year, which was a bummer. I did get to see my Aunt and Uncle and all of my cousins though. It was great to spend time with them all. There was also a little oil on the beach, so we didn’t really go in the water, but we swam in the pools and all played a pretty epic game of put-put. The pictures from that adventure are on Mom’s camera, so I’ll have to get them later.

We also went over to Orange Beach to visit the art center. It’s located in an older house on the bay and had some really fun pieces. Scott Thomas did these two pieces that I thought were a lot of fun.

We also got to eat at Sweetie Pies in Gulf Shores one day for lunch. They had great sandwiches and we took some pie home for dessert.

Mom, Dad and I also went to Fairhope for a morning. It’s such a pretty town, and I especially love looking at the houses along the bay.
Mom got to visit a new knit shop, and I found a cool music store I think Sean would like to visit when we come back.

On the street corners there were beds of summer flowers that I really enjoyed.

I also loved these doors. Their painted in one of my favorite colors.

Close to Fairhope, we also found Tom Jones Pottery. People have been using the Alabama clay here to make pottery and bricks for around one hundred years and this studio is continuing the tradition. There were some very nice pieces, we got to see the studio and an old bee hive kiln that was used during the 40’s and 50’s. The couple who own the studio also have greyhounds, so we had a common pet bond.

We ended up buying a lamp, a fish plate and a beautiful jade colored tea pot and cups. I really like the jade glaze because it has an eggshell finish.

And of course we celebrated my dad’s birthday!

I still have a few more pictures, but they’ll have to wait for another day.

4 Responses to “Gulf Shores Trip!”

  1. Aunt Jan August 10, 2010 at 4:25 AM #

    I loved the pics of art work,especially the turtle and the fish. I hope we get to go again, I missed a lot of the places you went. They looked really neat. LOve, Aunt Jan

  2. Lauren August 10, 2010 at 4:31 AM #

    Oh, I love the photo of the pottery and the greyhound.

  3. allie August 10, 2010 at 5:26 AM #

    “so we had a common pet bond” LOVE IT.

    also, “I like turtles”

    and want that fish!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Summer Vacation – Last Little Bit « A Sharper Focus - August 13, 2012

    […] Shores, for an afternoon and found this fun place called Dr. Music. I had taken a picture of the outside of the store a few years back, but had never gone […]

Leave a Comment

