It’s the last week of school!

31 May

I have three days of school left, which will mostly be field day activities, so I kind of already feel like summer has begun. I’ll be teaching a few weeks of art classes this summer at a small private arts academy which I’m excited about. I might not know what to do with my self with only 6 or 7 kids per class! It will definitely be an opportunity to try some new projects.

Speaking of projects, since the school year is pretty much over I thought I’d finish up with some pictures from the Houston Livestock show and rodeo competition and this years Spring Art Show.

These are some of the Rodeo entries. From Top Left Clockwise: 1st grade vases and bluebonnets, 2nd grade Kooky Armadillos, 3rd grade warm cool sunsets, 3rd grade Rodeo Clowns, 3rd grade Native American Sunsets, 5th grade western stained glass.

Here are some of the Spring Art Show winners. Kindergarten Owl Moon, Van Gogh Sunflowers and 1st grade Monet’s Water lilies. The Sunflower picture won a special award for our school as well!

3rd grade Underwater Adventure, their own take on Starry Night and 4th grade Thiebaud inspired sweets.

Here are a 5th grade 3D mask and Klimt inspired etching project. This year I had a lot of fun with 5th grade. We did many projects that took a few weeks to finish but they really stayed focused and did a great job.

6 Responses to “It’s the last week of school!”

  1. Aunt Jan June 1, 2010 at 8:57 PM #

    My favorite time of year, the Rodeo Art, as usual they did a great job, but then they had a great teacher. I really am amazed at what you get the younger ones to do, it seems to me they work at a level well above their age.

  2. Rachael June 2, 2010 at 12:16 PM #

    YAY! for the last week of school! Do you guys have great plans for the summer besides more teaching? Well done!

  3. asharperfocus June 5, 2010 at 10:31 PM #

    Rachael! Our plans for the summer are kind of up in the air right now. Sean will be finishing up undergrad with summer school so he can start his masters this fall. If you make it anywhere near TX let me know!

  4. Rachael June 7, 2010 at 12:51 PM #

    So far we’re only making it as far as Southaven, MS (near Memphis), but I will let you know if that plan changes. I hope your summer has started off well!

  5. seanpatrickpope June 7, 2010 at 4:02 PM #

    i love that jonas one because it reminds me of an icon. which would be perfect for the feast day of st. nick of beuna vista

  6. Lauren June 9, 2010 at 8:58 PM #

    I love the Owl moon.

    Sean, that would be even better if next to it was version of a Hanson icon.

Leave a Comment

