Garden Update

13 May

Here’s the view of my garden as of last weekend. I’ve planted some flowers since then, but you get the idea.
About a month ago my dad and I built the fence around it to keep out critters and my dog. Oscar thought it was fun to lie in the middle of the warm dirt before I planted anything.

In my first bed I have corn, eggplant and a jalapeno pepper plant. My corn doesn’t seem to be doing wonderfully, but I’m hoping over half of the plants will make it. Next year I will plant many more seeds so I have more plants to choose from.

In the middle bed I have zucchini, a different kind of eggplant and an orange bell pepper. Sean and I found a local farm/farmers market that we bought the peppers, big zucchini (in next picture) and 2 tomatoes from. The rest of plants, except for 3 cucumbers are from seeds I bought. After learning the about this farm I don’t think I will plant many plants from seed next year. After calculating the money I spent growing my plants from seeds, for most things I can spend less money buying a young plant that is already well established.

Here’s the rest of the garden. The big zucchini, cucumbers and tomatoes in the pots. I have also paired up the tomatoes with different types of basil to help keep away some pests. I’m having fun with the garden and I am definitely learning a lot. Hopefully I can keep it alive through the hot summer months to come.

3 Responses to “Garden Update”

  1. Aunt Jan May 13, 2010 at 3:36 AM #

    Looking good!!! It is a learning experience, but it looks like you are doing a good job. We planted a lot of our stuff from small plants instead of seed. I think the only things from seed were corn and beans. Have a great harvest.

  2. Luis May 13, 2010 at 3:05 PM #

    Looks great, S. Look at you, the budding horticulturalist! 😀 Miss y’all.

  3. Lauren May 17, 2010 at 3:36 AM #

    I hope we get to see some of the results when we come visit this summer. The gardens look so lovely. Do you get excited about working in the garden? or is it work you dread?

Leave a Comment

