A New Adventure: Gardening

12 Feb

Over the last month, when I have been in town, Sean and I have begun to construct what will hopefully be a summer vegetable garden. We’re in the process of making three raised beads, I just need to fill them in with dirt and whatnot.

I am also laying brick around the beads so I don’t have to slosh around in any mud when I have to weed.

WARNING ARACHNID BELOW (For those of you who don’t do spiders)

While laying brick this weekend I met an unexpected visitor. It crawled across my luckily gloved hand! Nice to meet you too. And yes, it’s legs spanned the entire width of the brick.

I have also started some seeds indoors, since it is still in the 30’s here at night. Hopefully I’ll be able to take some pictures of their progress soon. This is definitely new territory for me, but I love having fresh produce on hand so I’m crossing my fingers and reading gardening articles online and seeing what happens.

5 Responses to “A New Adventure: Gardening”

  1. Lauren February 12, 2010 at 2:16 AM #

    I am so jealous. Those boxes look great.

  2. Sarah February 12, 2010 at 3:57 AM #

    I am also jealous! Those look great. If only we had a east facing balcony, we could at least grow tomatoes. Sadly, our balcony is almost always in the shade.

  3. closereadings February 12, 2010 at 5:23 AM #

    i glad to see you enjoy my handiwork. i (like my brother) am very very capable when it comes to working with my hands.

  4. Aunt Jan February 12, 2010 at 10:38 PM #

    Hope you get many veggies from your new garden. Don’t think I will plant anything this year. Maybe a tomato or two, I’ll see.

  5. asharperfocus February 13, 2010 at 10:14 PM #

    Oh Sean, don’t beat your self up. You are very good at carrying bricks.
    Hopefully we’ll get lots of produce and we can share with the rest of you if you come visit this summer!

Leave a Comment

