The British Museum

11 Jan

Even though I’ve been to London a few times now, I had never been to the British Museum. So, I went this trip and was not disappointed. Many other museums I have been to have parts of statues, temples and artifacts, but I was surprised by the amount of compete and intact artifacts I saw.

This is Sean and Dad standing in front one part of a set of Assyrian statues.

I really liked this ferocious lion.

And here are a few more ancient sculptures.

I loved the micro-mosaics they had. Every time I see these I’m in awe at the patients and preciseness of the art.

2 Responses to “The British Museum”

  1. Aunt Jan January 11, 2010 at 2:37 AM #

    Loved the pics, I love mirco-mosaics too, I have seen a couple on Antique Roadshow…later ones than one you saw, but the work is amazing. Was Sean trying to be Napoleon??

  2. seanpatrickpope January 18, 2010 at 3:04 AM #

    It’s a long story … but yes. I was trying to strike a Napoleonic pose.

Leave a Comment

