Galveston

25 Oct

Last Friday night Sean and I headed down the Galveston for his parents’ church couples retreat. We got to stay at the Hotel Galvez , which made me very excited because I love cool old buildings. (The hotel opened in 1911)

galv1

galv2

We couldn’t have asked for a better room. It was on the front corner of the fifth floor looking over the beach. However we did learn from Sean’s parents the next morning that our room was supposedly the most haunted room in the hotel as well. Luckily we didn’t notice anything.

galv3

That night we also went down to Galveston’s historic downtown called the Strand. I never realized how much Victorian architecture is on the island. There are so many interesting houses that look to be close to one hundred years old, but a lot of them look like they could use some work as well.

galv4

I love the details on this building.

galv5

Sean was sad that Colonel Bubbies wasn’t open.

We ate dinner at a greek/seafood place on the pier. We split a sampler and were very pleased.

galv6

On Saturday, after the conference was over we also went to the aquarium at Moody Gardens. The aquarium had a great selection of animals including penguins and sea turtles, so I was very happy. Unfortunately the rain forrest pyramid doesn’t open again until April because of Ike. I remember liking it when I was in middle school and would like to see it again. I guess I’ll have to make another trip down in the spring sometime.

galv7
Back alley Sean.

One Response to “Galveston”

  1. Aunt Jan October 25, 2009 at 5:15 PM #

    I love that Hotel, really nice, I guess you call it the loggia, a good book and a glass of ice tea. As usual great pics !

Leave a Comment

