Our Annual Gulf Shores Expedition

3 Jul

My family and I left Houston last Friday for Gulf Shores, AL. We have been coming to here almost every year since 2001 for a week or two at a time and really enjoy it. This year we have my parents, my cousin Darla, her husband Morris, their four kids, Sean and me. Next week more family will be showing up to add to the fun. On the way over we also stopped in Slidell, LA, and visited with family which was a lot of fun.

Yesterday Morris, Drew, my dad and I went fishing in the Gulf for the morning. We caught eight King Mackerel and two Spanish Mackerel. Well, actually we caught more than that, but that was all we were allowed to keep. I hadn’t fished since I was six so it was a fun experience.

sarah3

This is the biggest one I caught. My arms were definitely a little soar today.

drew2

Drew in action. He caught the most of everyone I think.

shark

While we were out we also saw a huge hammer head shark! It was from 12 to 14 feet long, one of the biggest the captain say he has seen in years. It was just hangin’ out at the surface, gliding along.

I’m working on a photo album, so more pictures to come.

5 Responses to “Our Annual Gulf Shores Expedition”

  1. Paulina July 3, 2009 at 4:12 AM #

    Oh, that looks like it was lots of fun! So sad I’m missing it (and getting to deal with more stress than I bargained for here at home to boot). *sigh*

  2. Aunt Jan July 3, 2009 at 3:56 PM #

    Looks like Drew did really well, glad you all had a good time.
    Did you get to keep them or did you release them after they were caught?

  3. Allie July 3, 2009 at 4:57 PM #

    That shark is f%*#ing scary

  4. asharperfocus July 3, 2009 at 6:22 PM #

    Maybe next year Paulina. Aunt Jan, we got to keep ten of the fish. We’re not sure what to do with them now, but we have lots of Mackerel meat.

  5. Aunt Jan July 3, 2009 at 10:59 PM #

    Keith says mackerel is good eating..I don’t remember eating it but he says I have.

Leave a Comment

