Mini Texas Road Trip

23 Jun

kates8

As I mentioned before, Sean and I went up Longview, Texas a week or two ago to see our friends Kate and Luis. I had such a great time talking to Kate about her upcoming year as a teacher and taking silly pictures with Luis. I hope they can come to visit us in Houston soon. While we were there we stayed at Kate’s house on her families ranch. I loved seeing all of the horses, cows, chickens, dogs and other wildlife. Part of me would love to own land and have some animals, but they are also a lot of hard work and time. I think I’ll stick to my city dwelling life for now. Here’s a link to some of the highlights of the trip: Texas Trip

We also drove over to Hawkins Texas were Sean’s grandfather and great-grandfather are buried along with other family members.

grandpa

And as a surprising treat while we were driving back home on one of Texas’ may back roads we spotted this! Sean and I both love peacocks so we pulled over so I could take a few pictures.

peacock

It was definitely a fun little trip!

5 Responses to “Mini Texas Road Trip”

  1. Aunt Jan June 23, 2009 at 10:30 PM #

    As usual you took some great pics. I thought the horses were
    really pretty and I loved the peacock.

  2. Sarah Pope June 23, 2009 at 10:51 PM #

    Thanks Aunt Jan. I’m looking forward to seeing you in three days!

  3. siulelbon June 23, 2009 at 11:16 PM #

    I love your pics! They’re fantabulous (apparently that really IS a word – it’s in the dictionary!) I love the one of the tree. [ The “I like big trees” one] Beautiful.

    Had a lot of fun with y’all. I might have to go down to H-town soon. I’ll call you!!

    😀

  4. Kate June 25, 2009 at 3:01 AM #

    It was so great to see you guys! I was sad when you left… it’s always too short! 🙂

    I love the peacock photo and the fact that you just found him wandering around.

  5. asharperfocus June 25, 2009 at 9:49 PM #

    Please come visit! Any time after July 11th is great. It would be soo much fun!!!

Leave a Comment

