The Rest

27 Mar

So I’ve been back in home since Sunday, but school and jet lag have kept me from updating. The rest of our trip was very nice, even if the weather was a little crazy.

Me Big Ben

Thursday was rainy, but we did get to go to Apsley House, the home of the Duke of Wellington. He gathered quite a nice collection of art during his life from different governments he helped, or helped to take over. That night we also went to go see Wicked, which was fun.
Friday started out with beautiful blue skies so we walked down the Strand a bit and to the river. We also went to Somerset House, home of the Courtauld Gallery. They were having a lovely Renoir exhibit and there was also a nice selection of impressionist pieces I had never seen before. The weather had turned that afternoon though and we got hailed on while walking home. That night we also got to go eat at Rules to celebrate my parents 33rd wedding anniversary. I had rack of lamb and sticky toffee pudding that was divine.

Portabello Road Veggies

Saturday we went out to Portabello Road and wondered around the antique stalls and street market. Part of the time it snowed big wet flakes which was exciting for a Houstonian like me, but very cold. At the end of the market we found a new store called The Cloth Shop, which had some lovely antique ribbons, fabric and blankets. The owner was also very helpful and friendly. After trekking through the crowds I took my parents to eat at My Old Dutch Pancake House, which was just as good as I had remembered from last year. The weather cleared up that afternoon, so Dad and I went on a very chilly walk down to parliament. After we lost feeling in our noses we decided we better head back to the hotel.

The Cloth Store

We left Sunday morning to snow flurries and the sound of bells ringing over the city. It was very beautiful. I’m look forward to the next time I get to go.

One Response to “The Rest”

  1. Aunt Jan March 28, 2008 at 4:09 PM #

    I have really enjoyed my trip to London thru your great pics, and commentary. Thanks….

Leave a Comment

