Road Trip: Just a little one

4 Jun

Beat up tree
Two weekends ago I went up to Fort Worth for a good friends wedding, and my cousin is got married in Louisiana this past weekend. It appears as if wedding season is in full swing. Instead of driving to Fort Worth, then back to Houston between the weddings though, I decided to coral my parents into going on a road trip with me. Last Monday we arrived in Fairfield Bay, Arkansas, to visit my Great Aunt Elizabeth Hope. The wonderful lady from whom I share my two middle names with her first and last names. Fairfield Bay is a good hour and a half north of Little Rock for those of you who were wondering. Located in the rolling Ozark Mountains, the scenery is truly beautiful. Just a little walk from my Aunt’s house are sandstone caves with native american carvings in them. Pretty cool thing to stubble across on an after dinner walk. While in AR, my aunt also took us to the town of Mountain View, which was cute and had a great fudge shop.
Indian Cave
Wednesday we headed off to Mississippi to visit my cousin Darla and her family in Oxford. Now the town of Oxford was nice, with its beautiful old houses and giant trees on rolling hills. The town screams old south, and I loved it. The best part of the visit was spending time with the Bakers though, always a blast. I also got to go to Rowan Oak, Faulkner’s home, which was interesting, but we didn’t get to go inside his house because it was closing when we arrived.
Center of Oxford
From there we traveled down to Picayune/Slidell for the rest of the weekend. My brother and sister in law met us there with baby Corwin, my nephew. What a cute kid. It was great to see the family and celebrate a wedding. I’m excited to go back in a month on our way to the beach.
corwin, my nephew
Here are more Pictures of the trip. The page is not working how it should, but I’m working on it.

3 Responses to “Road Trip: Just a little one”

  1. Aunt Jan June 6, 2007 at 6:12 PM #

    As usual we loved the pics, the ones of Corwin(so cute!!) and Mom with the greatgrands are my favs. How did the veggies turn out, we are having some squash tonite, maybe with tomatoes in a casserole. OXO Jan

  2. Josh June 18, 2007 at 12:43 AM #

    That tree is aweome, and the picture is pretty cool too. You think you could send me a copy?

  3. Ryan June 18, 2007 at 5:18 AM #

    Josh wants a new background for the mac i see

Leave a Comment

